Skip navigation.
New Mexico State University
College of Arts and Sciences
Department of Astronomy
Interval (sec): 1 3 10 15 30 60


Please join us at the campus observatory at 9:00pm on Friday, April 24 for a guided tour of the night sky. Professor Nancy Chanover will present a short astronomical talk, joined by graduate students Jeremy Emmett, Jean McKeever, and Carlos Vargas as your guides to the night sky.

Objects to be observed include the planet Jupiter, the Beehive Cluster, the Eskimo Nebula, the Moon, and the Orion Nebula.

Children are particularly welcome!


Our hats go off to our six astronomy graduate students (shown below) who participated in the NMSU College of Arts & Sciences Three-Minute Thesis Competition on April 5, 2014. Students had three minutes each to present a thesis project (on one slide) and make the case in as compelling a fashion as possible, in an event designed to encourage graduate students to polish their communication skills and engage an audience.

Our students did us all proud! Graduate research fellow Kyle Uckert (third from left) won first place in the compeition with his solar system presentation, while Kyle Degrave (second from right) scored a third place win for his talk on helioseismology. Just imagine what they'll be able to cover in 45 minutes for a full PhD thesis presentation ...

Congratulations to graduate students Sean Markert, winner of the 2014 Pegasus Award for excellence in teaching, and to Kyle Degrave, who was recently awarded the 2014 Zia Award for excellence in research. Joining them are the 2013 winner of the Murrell Award for outstanding research or professional development, Maria Patterson, and Kenza Arraki, winner of the 2013 Rappaport Award for outstanding public service.